top of page
  • Writer's pictureLorien Cockman

Made to Be

Where did you come from, baby dear?

Out of the everywhere into here.


Where did you get your eyes so blue?

Out of the sky as I came through.


What makes the light in them sparkle and spin?

Some of the starry spikes left in.


Where did you get that little tear?

I found it waiting when I got here.


What makes your forehead so smooth and high?

A soft hand stroked it as I went by.


What makes your cheek like a warm white rose?

I saw something better than anyone knows.


Whence that three-cornered smile of bliss?

Three angels gave me at once a kiss.


Where did you get this pearly ear?

God spoke, and it came out to hear.


Where did you get those arms and hands?

Love made itself into hooks and bands.


Feet, whence did you come, you darling things?

From the same box as the cherubs' wings.


How did they all just come to be you?

God thought about me, and so I grew.


But how did you come to us, you dear?

God thought about you, and so I am here.


- George MacDonald

 

What is a life worth?

Is every life worth something different?

Are each of us weighed in the balance of the circumstances we were born into and judged accordingly?


"For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother's womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there were none of them." - Psalm 139: 13-16


This is a bible verse that most of us could repeat from memory for all the times that we've heard it. It is the anthem of pro-lifers everywhere. The reminder that each child is special. That each child, while voiceless, is not forgotten. But I think we've gotten too caught up in the romance of creation and have lost sight our role in the lives of God's children.


There are a lot of people who justify abortion by calling on the mother's choice. As if any one person gets to decide whether another human being lives or dies. I believe that this is an atrocity, and most Christians would agree. But we are not as innocent as we would like to think we are. How do we justify our complacency? How do we justify the blind eye that we turn every day while countless children suffer and die? We would fight tooth and nail for our own flesh and blood, without taking into account the fact that, in Christ, there is no flesh and blood - only the Spirit.


"See how great a love the Father has bestowed on us, that we would be called children of God; and such we are. For this reason the world does not know us, because it did not know Him. Beloved, now we are children of God, and it has not appeared as yet what we will be. We know that when He appears, we will be like Him, because we will see Him just as He is."

- 1 John 3: 1-2


WE are the adopted sons and daughters of God. He could have left us in sin, to fall and to die and to be trampled underfoot, but he didn't. He lifted us up and said, "Everything is going to be alright now," and He offered us eternal love and freedom in Him. This great God who created the cosmos and watches every sparrow has adopted us! He formed us. He knew us. He loved us. He died for us. He has made the impossible possible. How much more can we love, knowing that Christ first loved us?


We should be the hands and feet of our father. Helping, blessing, praying, lifting up the broken and the lost. We should be the conduits of light and salvation in this dark world.

Heaven's Embrace l Vanessa Horabuena


 

Little princess, small and cold,

Don’t let this winter break your soul.

Hold on to this lullaby

Even when the music dies.

Little princess, close your eyes.


Where will you go when I say goodnight?

Will it be full of warmth and light?

Will your dreams be soft and sweet?

Will angel’s hold you as they sing?

Can you hear the angels sing?


Little Princess, close your eyes,

Don’t you shake, and don’t you cry.

When you leave this castle tall

Will you fly or will you fall?

Little princess, cold and small.


Where will you go when I say goodbye?

Will it be warm and safe and bright?

Will she hold you in her arms?

Will he keep you safe from harm?

Will they keep you from all harm?


Beautiful, breakable, broken-up, not enough,

You are ours, through holding or letting go,

And through the dark and through the love,

Through being small and growing up,

I can’t see the future, what I wouldn’t give though.


Now I lay me down to sleep,

Praying, Lord, don’t let her leave.

Days and hearts as white as snow,

Little Princess, please don’t go.

I can’t live and let you go.


Cause I don’t know where you will be tonight,

Will you be safe out of my sight?

Will he give you all you need?

Will she love you more than me?

Can she love you more than me?


- Royalty's Lullaby



Every life is precious.

Every life is worth it.

Every story is blessed by God.

Even the ones we don't see the end of. Even the ones that seem hopeless to us. Even the ones that we cry over or stress over.

We are all God's children, and He has given us his Spirit of immeasurable love.

Please, friends, never forget that. Seek out those small lives that God has deemed invaluable. Remember all that Christ has done for you and allow His Spirit to lead you into the low places to seek the forgotten and the lost.





P.S. The decision has been made that the March for Life is going to be virtual this year, so if you weren't going to be able to make it, now you can! The link is below.


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page